The Well-Tempered Ear

Classical music: Music for the viola da gamba and harpsichord by J.S. Bach, Telemann, Scarlatti and Handel will be featured Sunday afternoon in a house concert by early music specialists Trevor Stephenson and Anna Steinhoff.

January 5, 2015
Leave a Comment

By Jacob Stockinger

The Ear’s good friend Trevor Stephenson, the keyboardist and professional early music performer who founded and directs the Madison Bach Musicians, writes about his latest upcoming house concert (below):

House music 2 in the round

“Happy 2015!

“Next Sunday afternoon, January 11, at 3 p.m., virtuoso cellist and viola da gambist Anna Steinhoff (below) will visit Madison to give a notable house concert with a program of works by Georg Philipp Telemann and Johann Sebastian Bach.

Anna Steinhoff

“I’ll also collaborate–from the harpsichord–on two of the pieces.

Trevor Stephenson marking scores

“The repertoire is listed below.

“Please let us know if you’d like to attend. We have about a dozen seats left. Tickets are $40 per person. Refreshments will be served. Call  (608) 238-6092 or email

“The concert will be at our home and studio at 5729 Forsythia Place, on Madison’s west side.


“Trevor and Rose Stephenson”


“Suite No. 1 in G major for unaccompanied cello by Johann Sebastian Bach (below). (The movements Prelude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Minuets and Gigue. The suite can be heard in a popular YouTube video, which has almost 6 million hits, at the bottom. It features Mischa Maisky on the modern cello .)


“Sonata in D Major for cello and harpsichord By Georg Philipp Telemann. The movements are Lento, Allegro, Largo and Allegro.

There will also be harpsichord solos by George Frideric Handel (below top) and Domenico Scarlatti (below bottom).

handel big 3

Domenico Scarlatti muted

“Sonata in D Major for solo viola da gamba solo by Telemann (below). Movements are Andante, Vivace, Recitativ, Andante Arioso and Vivace.

georg philipp telemann

Sonata in G major for viola da gamba and harpsichord by J.S. Bach. Movements are Adagio, Allegro ma non tanto, Andante and Allegro Moderato.”


    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,250 other followers

    Blog Stats

    • 2,226,744 hits
%d bloggers like this: